A Savory Quinoa Wrap

GBGF Quinoa Wrap 10

Look at the stringy mozzarella hanging over the edge! That’s just part of what makes this wrap so very delectable.

So my latest obsession has been sun-dried tomatoes.

Since I picked up a jar at Trader Joe’s two weeks ago, I’ve been sneaking them into almost all of my food. And you know what I’ve found? They actually work quite well in pretty much all of my meals. I guess that may be due to the fact that my other recent diet staples have been cheese and kale. In case you weren’t aware, sun-dried tomatoes, cheese, and kale really get along well. Beware- this combo is addicting.

So, when I pondered what to eat, it shouldn’t come as a surprise that the answer included all three of these staples.

Plus, I had a perfectly ripe avocado that was sitting on my counter just begging to be consumed.

I opened my pantry to see what else might work in a wrap. I needed some substance, but nothing too overwhelming. I was already pretty covered on the flavor front, and didn’t want to risk overdoing it.

That’s when I found my answer: quinoa.

I love making a batch of quinoa and keeping the extras around for other uses in other meals. One of my favorite ways to use leftover quinoa? To make a fried rice-inspired stir-fry, tossing the quinoa with soy sauce, toasted sesame oil, and veggies.

But let’s not get ahead of ourselves. Let’s focus on this wrap. Because it is simply deeee-lish.

If you were looking for a jazzy new lunch idea, this is it! In fact, maybe you should just make a whole bunch of these right now and keep ’em in the fridge. Then, on your way out the door in the morning, you can just throw one in your bag for lunch. Voila! Hassle-free morning.

You’re welcome.

Ingredients:

(for 1 wrap)

1 8-inch gf tortilla (I use Food for Life brand)

4 slices fresh mozzarella cheese

1 handful fresh parsley, chopped

1 heaping Tbsp. chopped sun-dried tomatoes

1/4 avocado, sliced

1/4 c. cooked quinoa

1 handful baby kale, or other greens

any other adornment you may wish to add (e.g. salt, pepper, crushed red pepper)

First, if you haven’t cooked the quinoa yet, do so now. I made 1 cup of dry quinoa, so I could use the rest for meals throughout the week. Rinse 1 c. dry quinoa, then place in 2 c. water. Bring to a boil. Once boiling, turn the heat low, and place the top on the pan. Let it cook for 15 min. Once the quinoa is cooked, use a fork to fluff it up and separate the grains.

GBGF Quinoa Wrap 1

Heat the tortilla on a skillet over low heat.

GBGF Quinoa Wrap 2

 

Let it heat for about 30 seconds on one side, then turn it over and line with cheese. Let cook until cheese is melted.

GBGF Quinoa Wrap 5

 

While the cheese is melting, chop up the parsley and sun-dried tomatoes.

GBGF Quinoa Wrap 4

 

Once the cheese on the tortilla has melted, turn off the heat and pile on the sun-dried tomatoes and parsley.

GBGF Quinoa Wrap 6

Line up the avocado slices.

GBGF Quinoa Wrap 7

 

Then, spoon the warm quinoa onto the tortilla, and plop on a handful of greens. (Feel free to add some dressing, but I felt that the sun-dried tomatoes and melted cheese gave the wrap enough moisture!)

GBGF Quinoa Wrap 9

Roll it up carefully, as the tortilla is probably a little crispy from the skillet. Between that and the green, the wrap has a nice crunch to it!

GBGF Quinoa Wrap 11

An even closer up close-up!

Enjoy!

Leave a comment