Balsamic Salmon

 

GBGF Balsamic Salmon 8Post I wrote on April 13th and forgot to actually post (ooooooops):

“Spring is sprung!”

Or at least that’s what everyone on my Instagram feed is saying. If everyone on social media is saying it, it must be true, right?

Well, it just so happens that I agree.

And on this wonderfully sunny and warm weekend I got to cross two things off my DC bucket list! On Saturday I went to a DC United game. I learned that soccer games are fun and soccer fans are rather hateful beings. There is a whole lot of trash talking. Why can’t we just be happy for each other? Okay, that might a lot to ask, but why can’t we be respectful to each other? It seems that perhaps I wasn’t meant to be a passionate soccer fan. On the bright side, I actually understand and enjoy watching soccer (lookin at you, football). Also, RFK stadium had Strongbow cider and papusas. Yum!

On Sunday I hiked the Billy Goat Trail in Great Falls National Park. Turns out, we weren’t the only ones who had that idea on one of the first warm weekends of the season. Surprise! But it was actually nice seeing so many people out enjoying the sunshine–can’t blame ’em! And on our way home we stopped at Baked & Wired for a gf cherry blossom cupcake (seasonal special!). And of course, I got one of their gf raspberry pop-tarts. They are DIVINE.

**

Now, onto the salmon. I am generally not a big salmon person. But as I started easing my way into liking seafood (starting when I studied abroad in Australia), I am finding more and more salmon dishes that I like. Tom is a big proponent of salmon, but easing into actually preparing and cooking his own dinners. So, when I saw this recipe on Well Plated, I knew it was right up our alley. A simple, man-approved dish for Tom to prepare. And a simply delicious preparation of salmon to put me over the edge as–dare I say it–a fan of salmon.

Ingredients

yields 3 servings

3 5-oz salmon fillets

2 tsp. olive oil

2 cloves garlic

3 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar

2 tsp. honey

2 tsp. dijon mustard

salt and pepper

GBGF Balsamic Salmon 1

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

In a medium skillet, heat the olive oil over medium heat.Garlic press the garlic cloves in the oil, and cook about 2 minutes.

GBGF Balsamic Salmon 2

Whisk in the balsamic vinegar, honey, mustard, and salt and pepper.

GBGF Balsamic Salmon 10

Whisk for about 5 minutes, or until thickened slightly.

GBGF Balsamic Salmon 5

Spray a baking sheet with Pam, and place salmon skin-side down.

GBGF Balsamic Salmon 6

Brush the tops liberally with the balsamic sauce.

GBGF Balsamic Salmon 7

Bake for 5 minutes. Brush with the rest of the sauce. Bake another 7 minutes.

GBGF Balsamic Salmon 9

Serve with a side like a green salad or rice. Enjoy!

GBGF Balsamic Salmon

 

Leave a Reply

