Mushroom & Onion Pasta Concoction

GBGF mushroom onion 20

Guess who’s back…back again.

You already wish I was gone again, don’t you?

Here I find myself in another winter rut, and here I find myself starting the ol’ blog back up again. There is no motivation to spend time outside (as it is freezing cold), and I have found myself eating pasta, pesto, and green beans one too many times. It has become clear to me that I need my blog back– to force me back into more dynamic and creative meals. I’m not promising anything too fancy. Just more interesting than…well, pesto every night.

But the main impetus behind starting the blog back up is that I got a new lens! Scratch that. I got two new lenses! In September, while shooting a cooking session, I knocked my camera off the kitchen counter. Ouch! The lens did not survive. And I meant to take it to a camera shop for so long, but I didn’t. Because I knew what the prognosis would be–and that fixing it would come at a price.

At long last, two weeks ago, I bought myself a used lens much like my world one. I was glad to have a fully working camera, but not excited enough. Then, my wonderful boyfriend bought me an even cooler lens that is perfect for close-ups and has great contrast. Aka it was basically made for food photography. And that, my friends, is why I had no choice. It was time to cook. And take pictures. And write. And blog.

So here we are.

Something about the cold makes me want a mushroom dish. Mushrooms go so well in creamy sauces and amidst rich flavors. Mushrooms exude warmth. And boy did I crave warmth on Tuesday. It was DC’s first official snow day of the season. Hurray! It was as if the weather gods set aside a day for me to get some things done around the house–including, but not limited to, cooking! Once the sun warmed up the air for me (aka once I finally got dressed for the day around noon), I headed out to Trader Joe’s for some ingredients.

And I had some fun with my new lens.

Exhibit A: a close-up of onion chopping!

GBGF mushroom onion

Exhibit B: whoops looks like some of my cooking wine fell into a glass. guess I better drink it!

GBGF mushroom onion 1

Exhibit C: cornstarch-y wooden spoon

GBGF mushroom onion 14

Okay, food, it’s your turn to take the spotlight.

ingredients:
4 Tbsp. butter
1 onion, sliced and cut into 2″ strips
10 oz mushroom, sliced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 c. white wine
1 c. vegetable broth
1 T. cornstarch
2 c. broccoli, cut into medium-large pieces
8 oz. gf pasta
1/4 c. chopped parsley
1/2 c. parmesan cheese, shredded

I decided to go for the rustic cast iron skillet with this recipe (in case I wanted to broil the cheese on top at the end…alas, I was too impatient), but any big skillet with enough depth to hold some liquid will work.

First, put the skillet over medium-low heat and melt 2 Tbsp. of butter in it.

GBGF mushroom onion 2

Once melted, drop the onion strips in.

GBGF mushroom onion 3

Stir occasionally and saute for about 6 minutes. While those are cooking, slice up the mushrooms and mince the garlic. Once the onions are beginning to brown, plop the mushrooms and garlic in.

GBGF mushroom onion 6

Let the mixture cook for about 5 minutes, stirring frequently. Use a wooden spoon to scrape the buttery bits on the bottom of the pan into the mixture too.

At this point, I put two medium pots of water on the stove to boil–one (nearly) full pot of water for the pasta, and one pot with about 1.5 cups of water in it. Once the smaller pot of water is boiling, pop the broccoli in and put the lid on to steam for about 4 minutes.

GBGF mushroom onion 11

Cook the pasta in the other pot of water.

Once the mushrooms and onions are fairly browned, turn the heat up to medium high and pour the wine in.

GBGF mushroom onion 8

lookin juicy

Stir intermittently and cook until the liquid is nearly gone from the pan. Next, stir in the vegetable broth and cornstarch. Thoroughly mix to incorporate the cornstarch.

GBGF mushroom onion 12

Cook for about 5-10 minutes, or until the concoction reaches your desired thickness.

When the concoction has hit its sweet spot and the pasta and broccoli are ready, dump it into the skillet with the mushroom and onion “concoction.”

GBGF mushroom onion 15

Add the parsley and cheese. Give it all a good stir!

GBGF mushroom onion 17

If you are me, you may want to top it off with some more parsley (for presentation) and cheese (bc duh). But I won’t tell you how to live your live.

GBGF mushroom onion 19

…more cheese, please.

GBGF mushroom onion21

Aaaand I finished my glass of wine. oops.

3 thoughts on “Mushroom & Onion Pasta Concoction

Leave a Reply

