Taco-Inspired Spaghetti

choppin tomatoes. all day erryday

choppin tomatoes. all day erryday

Tacos are just the greatest.

That is a fact, so don’t try to challenge it.

Okay, so everyone may not be obsessed with tacos as I am, but- if you’re any friend of mine- you at least enjoy a good taco meal every now and then. (If you don’t like tacos, we can probablyyy still find a way to be friends. Do you at least like chocolate??)

But even taco lovers like me don’t set out to eat them every single night for dinner. Especially since I already had breakfast tacos in the morning. By the way, tacos are the way to start a Monday. And if you’re at District Taco in DC (and I recommend that you go there), there’s free guacamole on your tacos in the morn. I was one happy camper! I was also a full camper, that subsequently didn’t eat much for lunch, but breakfast is the most important meal anyway, right?

What a fun-filled weekend I had!

I got to meet/hang out with three different friends of friends that were visiting from out of town. When close friends are visiting (or in one case, a sister), my friends and I like to jam pack our weekends with fun, and generally DC-specific, adventures. So, imagine doing that times three! Luckily, I got to spend some time with all of the visitors. I went to a beer garden, a Nationals game, two brunches, a BBQ, Jazz in Garden, and a Zac Brown Band concert.

Do you think that’s enough excitement for one weekend?

I sure do! It was so wonderful, but I sure was wiped by the time Monday morning rolled around. Thank God for breakfast tacos, am I right??

Answer: I am.

Now, moving on to dinner Monday night…

I wanted something easy, as I was pooped from my busy weekend. And I needed to use the rest of an avocado. From there, I sorta just started pulling out ingredients that seem to go together. And by that, I mean that the avocado reminded me of taco ingredients, so I basically pulled out things that could be put in a taco. And set it all on top of pasta.

And boy, did it hit the spot.

All the chili powder reminded my taste buds of chili (shocker), but the avocado gave it a summery flair. Thus, I like to think of it as a summery and lighter alternative to chili mac! You may recall that chili is one of my favorite foods, so this is a significant comparison.

So, if you like tacos (you do), then you should try to taco-ify your pasta! I’m telling you, it works. It totally and definitely works.

And tweak as you please! I know taco construction is personal business.

Ingredients:

yields 3 servings

4 oz. gf spaghetti

1 can black beans

2/3- 1 c. frozen corn

2 tsp. chili powder

1/2 tsp. cumin

1/4 garlic powder

1/4 tsp. onion powder

1/3 c. shredded cheese (I used cheddar)

1 c. chopped cherry tomatoes

1/2-1 avocado

salt and pepper

First, get a pot of water boiling and begin to cook the spaghetti.

Then, grab a medium-large skillet. Empty the can of beans into the skillet, with all the liquid, and heat over medium-high heat.

GBGF Mexican Taco Spaghetti 1

Stir in the chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, and onion powder. Let simmer for a couple of minutes, then add the corn. Continue to cook for another 5-10 minutes, until desired consistency.

GBGF Mexican Taco Spaghetti 2

Spoon the bean and corn mixture over the pasta. Sprinkle with cheese immediately, so that the cheese melts against the hot food.

GBGF Mexican Taco Spaghetti 6

Then, top with the chopped tomatoes and avocado.

GBGF Mexican Taco Spaghetti 4

 

I stirred mine up realll nice, so that the avocado, beans, and cheese became one. This is what dreams are made of.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

