Chickpea Kale Pizza

GBGF Chickpea Pizza 11

Surprise! I’m utilizing kale in a recipe!

Just kidding. It’s not so surprising.

I’m rather predictable, aren’t I?

Or we could call it consistent and reliable. That sounds better. A nice positive spin on my monotonous kale consumption.

Glad we agree.

So Uncle Sam’s birthday was yesterday. And what a wonderfully American summer day it was!

My friend Sam and I organized a group of friends to go to a baseball game. We are both Cubs fans, as we are both from Chicago.

Nope. Let me try that again.

Sam is from Chicago. I am from the suburbs of Chicago. It is a distinction that she likes to make clear, as she takes pride in her urban childhood. And I gotta say- I see her point. While I was riding my bike around the block and running through the sprinkler on my lawn in the burbs, she was spending the summers of her youth at the end of her street catching foul balls in the street. That’s right- she grew up in Wrigleyville in Chicago. Pretty cool, right? Respect, Sam.

STILL, I will always identify with the city of Chicago as an emblem of my childhood. Museums, restaurants, parks, and trains in the city limits are all of part of my childhood memories. I will always have disdain for the Chicago White Sox, and the Cubs will always be near and dear to my heart. I mean, they have Wrigley Field. Need I say more?

So, Sam and I are Cubs fans. A few months back, we realized that they were going to be in town playing the Nationals on the 4th of July. It was fate. The perfect way to spend an all-American holiday. After all, what’s more American than baseball? Even more fitting, the Nats and Cubs colors include red, white, and blue.

Obviously we made our friends take pictures of us in our Cubs gear. For some reason, I really like this candid:

"How should we pose? Should we do a silly pic? Should we skinny arm?" #millenialconversations

“How should we pose? Should we do a silly pic? Should we skinny arm?” #millenialconversations

What a fun day it was! Ending with fireworks on some friends’ rooftop.

me and fireworks

iphones have a hard time focusing with fireworks in the background

It’s hard to tell, but that’s the Washington Monument on the right side of the picture. It was a spirited and patriotic day in the nation’s capital! I couldn’t help but feel a little sentimental while we were on that rooftop. Surrounded by good friends, I looked over the cityscape, reminding me how lucky I am to live in this country.

Ok, I will stop being cheesy now.

Speaking of cheesy…

I whipped up a pizza for dinner tonight. So. Good.

I had been craving chickpeas ever since I remembered how good my chickpea pasta was. Then, I watched a movie in which people where eating pizza. It looks really good. So, I combined these desires and made a chickpea pizza. It comes highly recommended! (By me.)

Ingredients:

yields two 9 inch pizzas

1 garlic clove

1 cup chickpeas

1/2 tsp. cumin

salt and pepper

2 large handfuls of coarsely chopped kale, stems removed

2-3 Tbsp. olive oil

1/3 c. goat cheese crumbles

2 9-in. gf pizza crusts (I used Udi’s frozen crusts)

fresh parsley

fresh parmesan

Mince the garlic.

GBGF Chickpea Pizza 1

In a medium bowl, combine the garlic, chickpeas and cumin with a little bit of salt and pepper.

GBGF Chickpea Pizza 2

Mix it up. Add the 2 handfuls of kale to the bowl.

GBGF Chickpea Pizza 3

Drizzle with olive oil. Toss to coat.

GBGF Chickpea Pizza 4

Spread the mixture out over two crusts.

GBGF Chickpea Pizza 5

Crumble the goat cheese using a fork to break it up.

GBGF Chickpea Pizza 6

 

Then, sprinkle the goat cheese crumbles over the pizzas.

GBGF Chickpea Pizza 7

Bake for 7-10 minutes or until the kale begins to crisp. You don’t want the kale too overcooked and crispy!

GBGF Chickpea Pizza 8

 

I topped it with some fresh parmesan and chopped parsley.

GBGF Chickpea Pizza 9

Yum, right??

Yes.

GBGF Chickpea Pizza 12

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

