Mushroom & Parsley Pasta (and the World Cup…and the Bachelorette)

GBGF Mushroom Pasta 12

Yum yum yummmmmmm

This week, this was a big change in my typical Monday night sched.

My Bachelorette watching had to be pushed back to tonight, due to a lil something called ze World Cup.

Have y’all been watching any of the games? Like, sayyyyy the USA game last night?

Gosh, I was feeling rulll patriotic last night.

First of all, perhaps it doesn’t come as a surprise that living in DC has made me think about my patriotism more. From monuments to cheesy American-themed bars, there are so many reminders of the American spirit  of freedom and why I am proud to be an American (I kind of actually like this song…don’t make fun). On the other hand, there are also many daily reminders in the media and conversation that this Congress may not be the most efficient body to have ever governed our nation. But enough of the cynicism- its nothing we haven’t heard before…

I’ll be honest about the fact that I am being a complete bandwagon fan, jumping into soccer fandom when it is convenient and “cool” to do so. But, hey, a team should take all the fans they can get, right? Not that they seem to be lacking. There’s just something about the World Cup and the fact that SO MUCH of the world is into it. It’s that same feeling that I get when watching the Olympics. It’s cool to be a part of something that so many other humans- no matter how different their lives are- are apart of.

I went to a bar here in DC to watch the game with some friends. I got chills when everyone set down their beer to put their hand over their heart during the national anthem. Then, approximately 32 seconds later, Dempsey brought that patriotic feeling right back with the first goal of the game! Not to mention the end of the game…

Plus, another thing to appreciate about the World Cup is the sheer athleticism of allll the athletes. I mean, just watch the way they throw their entire bodies into the game. It’s pretty darn impressive.

Can’t wait for more World Cup viewing.

But for now, its Bachelorette viewing, which is exactly where I want to be on a night that I’m feeling a leeettle off.

What are your thoughts on the season thus far??

J.J. is so gangly and wonderfully goofy. Buttt Brian is wearing a bow tie tonight, sooooo…. +500 pts for him. But in terms of who Andi likes, I gotta say she and Josh seem pretty smitten. And quiet Marcus always makes an impact with his time.

Then again, I have literally always been wrong about who the Bachelor/Bachelorette picks. So, probably don’t listen to me.

But, you should listen to me when I tell you to make this pasta. Its the perfect simple pasta dish.

If you don’t know what you’re craving for dinner tonight, it’s this. I’m telling you- this will hit the spot no matter what mood you’re in!

I know that parsley is often more of an adornment to pasta dishes, but I really loaded it up in this dish to take center stage. And boy, does it pay off.

Plus, there’s cheese.

But you know that, by know- there’s always cheese in my pasta.

Ingredients:

serves 2

4 oz. gf spaghetti

2 Tbsp. olive oil

6 oz. button mushrooms, sliced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 c. chopped parsley, divided

2 oz. goat cheese

1/4 c. freshley grated pecorino cheese

1/4 c. roughly chopped almonds

salt and pepper

First of all, get some water boiling, so you can cook the pasta while you make the rest.

While the water is boiling, simultaneously heat up 2 Tbsp. olive oil in a medium skillet. Toss the minced garlic into the skillet.

GBGF Mushroom Pasta 1

Stir the garlic around in the olive oil for about a minute, then add the sliced mushrooms.

GBGF Mushroom Pasta 2

Make sure to keep an eye on the mushrooms, stirring them so that they are evenly cooked. Meanwhile, chop up the parsley and almonds.

GBGF Mushroom Pasta 5

After the mushrooms have been cooking for about 5 minutes, add half of the parsley.

GBGF Mushroom Pasta 3

When the pasta is really, drizzle with a bit of olive oil.GBGF Mushroom Pasta 6

Then, toss in the parsley, pecorino, and goat cheese. And salt and pepper. You may want to use your fingers to break apart the goat cheese, to ensure it gets properly mixed in.

GBGF Mushroom Pasta 8

Once the mushrooms are properly cooked…

GBGF Mushroom Pasta 9

Add the pasta mixture into the skillet with the mushroom mixture.

GBGF Mushroom Pasta 10

Toss well. And top with the chopped almonds.

GBGF Mushroom Pasta 11

And then you eat it whilst watching your ultimate guilty pleasure. Because that, my friend, is weekday bliss.

Curled up in my snuggie watching The Bachelorette. This is the life.

Curled up in my snuggie watching The Bachelorette. This is the life.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

