Crispy Chickpea Spaghetti

Hola! It’s been awhile, y’all!

What a busy weekend I had! My family came to visit DC for Easter weekend, which means my whole weekend was jam-packed with fam time, of course. My little brother, Curt, arrived first, on Thursday evening. That night we headed out to a Nationals game with some of my friends. Oh. My. Goodness. It was sooo cold. Like legit in the 40s cold. And everyone was dressed for springtime 50s cold with jackets. Who would’ve known we needed parkas in mid-April?? Needless to say, we only lasted about 3 innings in the park, before retreating to a nearby bar to watch the rest of the game. (Curt is finally 21, so we no longer have to accommodate his inability to get into bars!!)

The next morning, my mom, dad, and sister came in time for lunch. So, we met up at Open City- in my neighborhood of Woodley Park. Open City is gluten heaven. HEAVEN. They have gf cookies, muffins, pizzas. Also, I love their eggs for brunch! My dad, sister, brother, and I are all Celiac (everyone except for mom), so they were happy to see the menu.

We had such a great [food-centered] weekend, hitting up many DC spots that I had had my eye on. And since I’m training for a half-marathon, my appetite is larger than usual. So, I didn’t even feel grossly stuffed by the end of the weekend! Speaking of running, I also got new running shoes this weekend. Adidas! I haven’t run in Adidas shoes since high school, so I feel all youthful and nostalgic in them. Plus, they are so springy. Garsh, getting new running shoes is one of the most exciting feelings, you feel me? (…Bueller? …Bueller?)

I am running the Nike Women’s Half Marathon in DC this weekend! Which means all my long training runs are behind me. Now, its all about staying in shape with some smaller runs and prepping my body with some extra protein and carbs. As I was looking back in recipes that I’ve been wanting to try, this one caught my eye due to the chickpeas (protein) and carbs (pasta). I decided to tweak it a bit, also using this as inspiration.

So here’s what I did:

1 can chickpeas

2 Tbsp. olive oil, plus another 1-2 for drizzling at end

¼ tsp. smoked paprika

¼ tsp. garlic powder

¼ tsp. salt

¼ tsp. pepper

8 oz. gf spaghetti

½ lemon (use the juice and the zest!)

¼ c. chopped cilantro

¼ c. parmesan

GBGF Crispy Chickpea Spaghetti 1

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Drain and rinse chickpeas. Pat dry with a paper towel.

GBGF Crispy Chickpea Spaghetti 2

Spread on a baking sheet. Drizzle with 2 Tbsp. olive oil, and toss. Sprinkle on smoked paprika, garlic powder, salt, and pepper.

GBGF Crispy Chickpea Spaghetti 3

Toss.

GBGF Crispy Chickpea Spaghetti 4

Look at these nuggets.

GBGF Crispy Chickpea Spaghetti 5

Just look at the whole lot of them.

Place in oven for 10 min, toss, then roast for another 10 min.

Half way point!

Half way point!

Bring water to boil and cook the spaghetti. Once the roasted chickpeas and spaghetti are ready, toss together with the cilantro, parmesan, lemon juice, and more olive oil.

That's the stuff!

That’s the stuff!

Yum!!! Yay protein and carbs! And of course, yay cheese!

GBGF Crispy Chickpea Spaghetti 8Enjoy, people!

 

One thought on “Crispy Chickpea Spaghetti

  1. Pingback: Chickpea Kale Pizza | gottabeglutenfree

Leave a Reply

