Banana Bread…and other lake house tales

GBGF Banana Bread 10

waterfront toys

What to doooo when your dad used to be obsessed with bananas, then grew tired of consuming bananas, but your mom is used to his 20-year-long obsession with bananas, so she still buys them by the bunches. You know how that goes.

Oh, you don’t?

Well, that seems to be how it goes in my parents’ house these days. Sooo, there are lots of banana baked goods to be had, to use up all the browning bananas. I’m starting to wonder if this is my dad’s grand plan, as he enjoys banana baked goods. Maybe he is feigning his decreased interest in bananas, with the intention that my mom will HAVE TO make banana bread/muffins. Chances are, however, that my father is no mastermind.

Regardless, I decided to employ my mom’s banana bread recipe to use up some of the brown bananas at the lake house this week. While the bread was baking, my friends and I went kayaking for a couple of hours in a creek that feeds into the lake, appropriately named “Grassy Creek”. For there is a fair amount of grass. And lily pads. My friends kept saying they felt like they were in the scene in “The Little Mermaid” where Ariel and Eric are in a row boat. It also kinda looks like the scene from “The Notebook” where Allie and Noah are in a row boat. But we were in kayaks, and we got stuck in the little pads a couple of times. Slightly less romantic than the movies.

 

our neighbor and I helping Amy and Sarah assemble their kayak

our neighbor and I helping Amy and Sarah assemble their kayak

me helping Elsa assemble our kayak

me helping Elsa assemble our kayak

We have the kind of kayaks that have foot pedals to propel you along. The paddles are attached to the side in case you want to use those, but most people prefer the foot pedals. I mean, who has enough upper body strength to actively paddle a kayak for more than like 30 minutes? Not me. Sooo I am quite into these pedaling kayaks.

off we go!

off we go!

Meanwhile, the banana bread was baking. Good thing my mom was around to take it out of the oven!

Ingredients

yields 1 loaf of bread

2 c. GF flour (I used Pamela’s)

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 c. butter, softened at room temp

1 c. sugar

2 eggs

2 medium ripe bananas

1/4 tsp. vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a medium bowl, stir together flour, baking soda, and salt.

In a large bowl, thoroughly incorporate the butter and sugar (may be helpful to use a mixer here, but not necessary). Mix in eggs one at a time. Mix until thorough.

In a small bowl, use a fork to mash the bananas, and mix until smooth. Mix vanilla into bananas. Then, stir the banana mixture into the butter/sugar/eggs.

GBGF Banana Bread

remnants of banana mashing

Stir flour mixture into the wet ingredients. Blend well.

GBGF Banana Bread 1

Spread in a greased 9x5x3 in loaf pan.

GBGF Banana Bread 3

GBGF Banana Bread 4

Bake for 55 minutes, or until done.

GBGF Banana Bread 5

Let cool in pan 5 minutes, then loosen and turn onto wire rack to cool.

GBGF Banana Bread 6

Leave a Reply

