Blueberry Muffins

GBGF Blueberry Muffins 15

Well, I think its safe to say summer is here!

Nevermind waiting until June 21 for it to officially begin. Summer starts when Mother Nature decides. Just like winter is as brutal as Mother nature decides. And maybe one day we can forgive her for the Polar Vortex. That was rough stuff.

Summer makes me think about berries. Obviously. Because fresh berries are one of the greatest joys in life. I’m sure you can agree.

Last year, I spent much of the summer at my family’s lakehouse in Indiana. Like rural Indiana. Its kinda funny how small the towns are there, actually. This also means there are farms galore! Fresh corn allll summer long. Which my parents take to mean they should take advantage of this and eat corn every. single. night. The corn is really, really delcious blah de blah…but I get tired of picking the kernels out of my teeth after every dinner.

However, I fully enjoy everything else at the farm stands on the side of the roads! The tomatoes, the asparagus, THE STRAWBERRIES, THE BLUEBERRIES. Last June, pretty much any day I was at the lakehouse, I would walk down to the farm stand for fresh strawberries. Does life get much better?

from my instagram last summer

from my instagram last summer

While strawberries are my fave berry for munchin, blueberries are the best for baking in sweet treats like pies, crisps, pancakes, and…muffins!

Even though blueberries aren’t quite in season yet locally, I couldn’t help myself from getting some at the grocery store to get a-bakin’!

And bake I did.

Ingredients:

yields about a dozen (specifically, 14) muffins

2 c. gluten free flour

2 tsp. xanthan gum

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt

1/2 stick unsalted butter, melted

2 large eggs

1/2 c. buttermilk

1/2 c. honey

zest of one lemon

1 c. blueberries

GBGF Blueberry Muffins 1

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Combine dry ingredients in a bowl and mix well.

GBGF Blueberry Muffins 7

Pat the blueberries to make them as dry as possible. In a small bowl, mix 2 Tbsp. of the dry ingredient mixture with the blueberries. This will help them suspend in the batter better.

GBGF Blueberry Muffins 8

In a large mixing bowl, beat the melted butter and honey.

GBGF Blueberry Muffins 3

thought I could whisk it….

Add the eggs, beating after each addition.

...I got tired and grabbed my hand mixer.

…but I got tired and grabbed my hand mixer.

Mix in the buttermilk.

GBGF Blueberry Muffins 5

 

Add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, until just blended.

GBGF Blueberry Muffins 10

Carefully mix the blueberries in. You don’t want to smoosh them!

GBGF Blueberry Muffins 11

Grease muffins tins and fill ’em up!

GBGF Blueberry Muffins 12

 

Bake for 18-20 min.

 

 

 

GBGF Blueberry Muffins 14

Let them cool for about 5 minutes, then pop them right out of the tin. And try not eat 5 warm and delicious muffins right away. I challenge you.

good morning muffin friend. I will put you in my mouth now.

good morning muffin friend. I will put you in my mouth now.

Leave a Reply

