Mom’s Buttermilk Pancakes

What is better than recreating your mom’s recipes in your own kitchen? With childhood memories and that feeling of familiarity and coziness overcoming you…

Well, actually being home and having your actual mother cook such food is better. Still, there is something to be said about making your mom’s classic recipes on your own. For instance, when I make my mom’s chili, I feel proud- to think of a time when my mother made this for me, and I am now independent making it on my own! Oh, how far I’ve come! *self five*

Inevitably, your food doesn’t taste quite the same as when your mom makes it. Or maybe you have made deliberate little changes- like how I don’t put ground chuck in the chili. But that’s kinda cool, because you are making it your own. It’s like the game of telephone. Or like food evolution. EVOLUTION, people.

In addition to chili, pancakes/waffles are another of my mom’s signatures. It was always a real treat to get her homemade waffles for dinner. Sweets for dinner? What fun! (This sounds sarcastic, but I am being 100% genuine.)  She was also known to make them for special occasion breakfasts, like when a gaggle of my friends would spend the night for a sleepover.

To be honest, waffles are truly superior to pancakes. Unfortunately, waffles are also more work- separating the egg whites to make them fluffy. Even more unfortunately, I do not have a waffle iron.

Thus, pancakes.

Whereas waffles are superior in the “fluffy” category, pancakes win the “fun to make category”. Mickey mouse pancakes. Hearts. Sprinkling blueberries and chocolate chips and bananas and whatever else you like on the pancakes on the griddle. Need I say more? Pancake making has a lot of room for creativity.

So, go buy some buttermilk and get your creative juices flowin. And let’s make some pancakes.

Ingredients:

2 c. gluten free flour

2 tsp. xanthan gum

2 t. sugar

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

2 eggs

2 c. buttermilk

3 Tbsp. melted butter

optional toppings like chocolate chips, blueberries, or other fruit

Welp, I forget to take a pic of all the ingredients ooops

Sift and combine the dry ingredients in a bowl.

GBGF Buttermilk Pancakes 1

In a separate bowl, beat the eggs until light. Add the buttermilk and melted butter.

GBGF Buttermilk Pancakes 2

Mix the egg mixture into the dry ingredients, until just combined. (To keep air in the batter, don’t overstir.) Add toppings, if desired.

GBGF Buttermilk Pancakes 3

Heat the griddle (or skillet, if you like me and underequipped) over medium-low heat. Spray with nonstick spray.

GBGF Buttermilk Pancakes 4

Scoop about 1/3 c. of batter onto the griddle at a time.

GBGF Buttermilk Pancakes 6

I like to press the toppings into the batter on the griddle, so as to get the proportions justtt riiight.

Flip after about 3 minutes, or when it is golden on the other side.

or slightly overgolden, if you are like me and are afraid of undercooking pancakes

or overly golden, if you are like me and are afraid of undercooking pancakes

And one of my favorite things about pancakes is serving them with fruit!

GBGF Buttermilk Pancakes 7

lil farmer’s market strawberries. YUMM.

Enjoy, y’all!

One thought on “Mom’s Buttermilk Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Blueberry Muffins | gottabeglutenfree

Leave a Reply

