Kale Pesto Pasta with Balsamic Onions

Sooooo, the Bachelorette starts tonight- starring my girl, Andi! I’m so excited for her to resume the show’s greatness (not being sarcastic), after dumb Juan Pablo tainted the show’s good name last season (still not kidding). #truebachelorettefan

Oops sorry for the hastagging. I am warming up for when I live tweet during the premiere!

Back to food now…

When I saw a post on BevCooks with kale pesto, I knew I was going to have to whip up some kale pesto of my own at some point. I am a big kale girl. I always have a big ol’ bunch of curly kale in my fridge. I throw it in omelettes, pasta, stir fry, etc. But most of the time I eat it raw- either in a salad or on a sandwich/wrap.

Aaaand now I sound like Bubba from Forrest Gump, naming all the different preparations of shrimp.

Long story, short- I like kale. I found a new preparation of kale. I made said kale preparation. I really enjoyed it.

You don’t have to be a kale lover already. This could be a good way to dip your toe into the kale world. To soften the blow of the raw kale, you could even throw in some basil to give it more of the familiar pesto taste. Or add more cheese. More cheese is always encouraged.

Now for the the recipe…

Ingredients:

yields 3-4 servings

6 oz. pasta

1/3 c. almonds

1/4 onion (I used leftover red onion, but yellow or sweet onion might work best)

3 stalks curly kale

2-3 garlic cloves

1/4 c. olive oil

1/2 lime

3 Tbsp. grated parmesan cheese, plus more to top

1 tomato, diced

1-2 Tbsp. balsamic glaze

 

GBGF Kale Pesto 1

 

Slice the onion. Drizzle olive oil in skillet and place over medium heat. Begin cooking onions, around 20 minutes or until caramelized.

GBGF Kale Pesto 2

Bring a pot of water to a boil, and cook pasta.

Toss almonds with olive oil in a separate skillet over low heat, for about 5 minutes. Toss frequently to avoid burning. Once toasted, transfer to a plate lined with paper towels to soak up excess oil.

GBGF Kale Pesto 4

Roughly chop almonds.

GBGF Kale Pesto 5

For the pesto, bring out ze food processor. Whir up the kale, olive oil, parmesan cheese, and olive oil. Taste, and adjust as you wish!

GBGF Kale Pesto 3

Once the pasta is cooked, reserve about 2 Tbsp. of pasta water. Mix the pesto and reserved pasta water into the cooked pasta.

GBGF Kale Pesto 6

 

Throw in the chopped almonds. And more chz plz.

GBGF Kale Pesto 9

Once the onions are caramelized, drizzle the balsamic glaze over them, and mix well. Toss the diced tomatoes in the balsamic onions.

GBGF Kale Pesto 8

Aaaand top the pasta with the balsamic onion/tomato mixture. And probably top with more cheese. Because that is always the right decision.

Now for my awkward picture of the delicious meal…

GBGF Kale Pesto 10

I was apparently so eager to eat this meal that I took a dumb picture #hungrygirlproblems

Enjoy, y’all!

 

Leave a comment