Black Bean Burgers

Hola, gang!

My mom always referred to my siblings and I as gang. Example: “Come on, gang! Let’s go!” I always felt weird about this. In my head, a gang was something you chose to join. On the contrary, I was forced born into my family. I also felt weird about it because I would see gangs in the newspaper for various violent crimes. My siblings and I were not involved in local crimes (to my knowledge). You can see how this pet name of “gang” would confuse a child. You can’t? Humor me.

Despite her confusing terminology, my mom did a prettyyyyy awesome job of raising us. (THANKS MOOOOM.) Which is why I called her on Sunday (known to Hallmark as Mother’s Day). Which is why she told me about her brunch at Prasino. Which is why I was craving a black bean burger with avocado sauce.

Prasino is one of those places that I usually put on my list of “restaurants I must visit” whenever I make a trip home. And I really can’t remember a time that I ordered anything other than their black bean burger. Its just. so. good. And gluten free! It is served with a slice of cheese melted on top and an avocado sauce that has a real kick!

And it was such a nice day that I decided to make a picnic of it. My friends Sarah and Alice came over to eat with me in the courtyard of my apartment, and it was quite lovely. Plus, they brought a deeeelish salad with lotsa fruit and goat cheese to go on top. Just my type!

GBGF Black Bean Burgers 9

I can’t wait for more picnics throughout the summer!

When it came to making the black bean burgers, I turned trusty Iowa Girl Eats for guidance.

Ingredients:

yields 4 burgers

1 15-oz. can black beans

1/4 red onion

2 garlic cloves

3/4 tsp. cumin

1/4 tsp. salt

3/4 c. corn (I thawed frozen corn)

1/4 c. salsa (for me, Tostitos Restaurant Style all day errrry day)

3/4 c. gf bread crumbs (you can use any bread lying, see below)

1 egg white

avocado sauce:

1/2 avocado

1/4 c. plain yogurt

1/2 lime

salt

GBGF Black Bean Burgers 1

Bread Crumbs: I decided to make my own using leftover cornbread that was in my freezer. Feel free to use any bread you have lying around! I thawed the bread and tore it apart (cornbread crumbles apart well), then spread it into a pan.

GBGF Black Bean Burgers 2

on its way into the oven

Bake it for about 10-15 minutes, or until they are just beginning to get golden, at 350 degrees F. Once the bread pieces are baked and dried, crumble them apart into crumbs!

Burgers: First, mince the garlic cloves and finely chop the red onion.

GBGF Black Bean Burgers 3

Drain and rinse the beans, then throw them into a bowl to toss with the chopped onion, minced garlic, cumin, and salt.

GBGF Black Bean Burgers 4

 

Use fork to mash the mixture. (I like my bean burgers pureed, so I only coarsely mashed.)

GBGF Black Bean Burgers 5

 

Add the corn, salsa, bread crumbs, and egg whites to the bean mixture.

GBGF Black Bean Burgers 6

 

Then, mix it up and use your hands to form four burgers. Coat a skillet in oil and heat over medium heat.

GBGF Black Bean Burgers 7

 

Cook for about 5 minutes on each side. Flip carefully! These guys are delicate.

Avocado sauce: Mash the avocado in a bowl. Mix in the lime juice, yogurt, and salt.

GBGF Black Bean Burgers 8

Voila!

And off to the courtyard we went for our lovely meal!

 

GBGF Black Bean Burgers 10

Topped with sliced red onion, cilantro, and avocado sauce.

I didn’t have any buns so we ate the bean burgers in a tortilla. Thus, it was somewhat of a black bean burger burrito. How’s that for alliteration?

A tasty salad to go along with it

A tasty salad to go along with it

I pretty much licked my plate clean. In fact, my tongue may have come into contact with my plate. A lovely Sunday indeed!

theee end

allll gone.

 

One thought on “Black Bean Burgers

  1. Pingback: Grillin’ Pizzas | gottabeglutenfree

Leave a Reply

