Baked Sweet Potato Fries

Sweet potatoes are so in. And have been for a while. I got into them…last week? No, it was two weeks ago. I’m really on top of the trends, obviously.

In college, it seemed like everyone was casually taking their CSA sweet potatoes, wrapping them in a paper towel, and popping them in the microwave. Voila, dinner! It seemed like such an easy- and hipster- option, but I just wasn’t as thirsty for these badboys as the others seemed to be.

THEN, two weeks ago, while watching Barefoot Contessa (Ina is a goddess), I was inspired to try out sweet potato fries. Reluctantly, I picked out a sweet potato at the grocery store, chopped it up, and plopped them in the oven. I was pleasantly surprised. I am officially a sweet potato convert!

Now, this is hardly a “recipe”, more of an idea really. But that’s what I’m here for- to inspire! And it sure does make a tasty snack, side dish, or even a meal if you eat enough 😉

Here we go.

Ingredients:

1 sweet potato

about 2 Tbsp. olive oil

1/8 tsp. salt

1/8 tsp. pepper

dash (about 1/16th tsp.) of onion powder

Image

Le Sweet Potato

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Cut the sweet potato into long, thin, fry-like strips (thank you, Captain Obvious).

Image

Thank you to the lovely hand model, my friend Althea. She was so generous to offer her hands to show us how one would go about cutting a sweet potato.

Image

Spread out on a cookie sheet and drizzle generously with olive oil. Toss with your hands to coat the fries completely (or tongs, if you don’t feel like getting your hands dirty!).

Image

Then, sprinkle with salt, pepper, and onion powder. Toss once more and stick in the oven for about 10 min. Flip the poe-tae-toes and stick back in the oven for about 10 more min, or until soft all the way through. Let them cool a bit.

Image

Accidentally left them in the oven a leettle too long. But they tasted perfect!

Serve with ketchup. Because, fries.

For some reason, I felt inspired to take a picture of my counter. I think its because I wanted to show off my cute lil elephants-hugging-with-their-trunks salt and pepper shaker. The set is one of my favorite souvenirs from my trip to Thailand.

Image

These are a few of my favorite things.

Goodbye for now, friends.

 

Leave a Reply

