Classic Hummus

Made some hummus today! One more thing to check off my Cusinart bucket list, ever since I got my very own food processor for my birthday last month.

We could sure use some humus around here too, am I right?? Yes, humus…as in, nutritious soil. Okay, that was not the most accurate use of the word humus, but the point is that I would really like for spring to arrive soon. Permanently. We had a snow day on Monday, which was March 17th. Come on, Mother Nature!

GBGF 3:17 Snow Day

the view out my window Monday morning

Sunday was a lazy day, so I did not pay attention to news/weather reports. Therefore, I was quite surprised to wake up to the sound of a shovel scraping snow off the sidewalks. (I’m from Chicago- that noise is ingrained in all Midwesterners for life.) Sure enough, after I looked it up online, I realized it was a snow day! I couldn’t believe the ground was covered in snow right after a beautiful St. Patrick’s Day weekend during which I strolled around town in a mere cardigan.

End weather rant. I tell ya, that subject really gets me going!

Welllll, the good news about snow day is that I made my meal fresh, instead of haphazardly packing it in the morning. I spread the hummus on a gluten free tortilla wrap. I chopped up whatever veggies I had to put in it. In this case, I used carrots, bell peppers, and broccoli.

GBGF 3:17 Hummus 4

chop chop chop those veggies

Usually I would also put a leafy green in there, like spinach or kale. Since my leftover veggies were looking a leeetle bit dry, I drizzled a bit more olive oil on the veggies.

GBGF 3:17 Hummus 5

Voila!

Between the garlic in the hummus and the crushed red pepper flakes that I sprinkled on top, my tongue sure is doing a dance- a happy dance, I assure you!

GBGF 3:17 Hummus 6

nomnomnom

Ingredients

Inspired by Ina

3 Tbsp tahini

1 tsp salt

2 Tbsp water (I used the liquid from the chickpeas)

juice from 1 lemon

1 can chickpeas

3 garlic cloves

1 tb olive oil

Look at the garlic cloves along the lemon- like three little ants on a log!

Look at the garlic cloves along the lemon- like three little ants on a log!

First, I plopped the garlic cloves into the food processor and chopped those badboys right up! Next, drain the can of chickpeas, reserving a couple of tablespoons of the liquid for the hummus. Then, go ahead and dump the chickpeas, lemon juice, tahini, salt, and 1 Tbsp of chickpea liquid into the food processor. Blend it together!

GBGF 3:17 Hummus 2

Once it is looking pretty smooth, drizzle the olive oil and another Tbsp of chickpea liquid (to your desired consistency!) into the mixture, and blend it up some more!

Now, hummus comes in all sorts of varieties, with all sorts of different proportions. Feel free to add more lemon juice, or less garlic (which you may want to do because I really like garlic),  or whatever suits your taste buds! You could even add some spicy pepper or something to give it pizzazz.

Once your hummus tastes the way you want it to, chill to let it set. Then, demolish- with carrots, bell peppers, pita, etc! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

