GF Shredded Pork Tacos

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My last Taco Tuesday in the States until July = so SAD!  Well, last Taco Tuesday at home.  Next Tuesday, I will be in the airport around dinner time.  Maybe I can get one last bite of Mexican at Rick Bayless’s new place in O’Hare (the fast food version of Frontera Grill).  I saw it last month, and it looked pretty tasty!  I heard there little to no Mexican food in Australia.  *sob*  It really makes sense.  Our neighbor is Mexico, whereas they are near Asia, which means they have lots of delicious Asian food (or so I heard)!  Maybe I will have to start like Fried Rice Friday, or something along those lines.  Anyway, back to Taco Tuesday…

I’ve always wanted to make really tender, juicy pulled pork tacos (without the barbecue sauce of course).  And so this week, with the help of the butcher behind the counter, I picked out some pork and took the plunge.  The taco meat I made this week was slightly akin to the “carnitas” found at Chipotle, if you would like a reference point.  And I roasted it for three hours, so by the time my dad came home from work, the house was smelling pretty darn GOOD.

1.5 lbs Pork Shoulder (cut by the butcher in half, into two large pieces)

salt and pepper

1/4 c. olive oil

2 tsp. Cumin

2 tsp. Cayenne

2 tsp. Garlic Powder

1 Onion, quartered

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Get out a large stockpot (or as my mom calls ours, a Dutch oven).  Coat the bottom in the olive oil and start to heat it up on the stove top.  Then, turn to the meat.  Generously season all sides with salt and pepper.  Then season with 1 tsp. of each the cumin, cayenne, and garlic powder on each piece of meat.  When the oil is warmed up, throw both pieces of meat into the pot, searing each for a couple of minutes on all sides.  Now wedge the pieces of onion in the nooks around the meat.  Stick it in the oven for 3 hours.  Enjoy the aromas.

When the meat is finally taken out of the oven, it should basically fall apart at the touch of a fork.  Transfer to a work surface like a cutting board to cut it up.  And by cut it up, I mean drag your fork along the sides and the meat will actually come apart on its own.  Then serve!  The pork was the star of the meal, so I merely served it on warm corn tortillas with cheese, lettuce, tomato, and a little salsa on top.  Soo good!

And the best part is, there was mucho leftover pork.  Tomorrow, we are going to slather it in barbecue sauce and make pulled pork sandwiches!

One thought on “GF Shredded Pork Tacos

Leave a Reply

