GF Meatballs

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Wellll, it’s been a while since the last post.  That is because I had some failed dishes that could not earn the status of a blog post.  Fortunately, tonight’s dinner was a worthy recipe.  The inspiration for this dish is my Grandma, whose name we actually spell Gramma.  Whenever my cousins and I used to visit my Gramma’s house in our younger years, she would make her esteemed meal which my cousin named “Meat and Rice.”  It was a very evolved and simplified version of stuffed peppers.  To make stuffed peppers kid-friendly, she cooked tomato sauce and ground beef in a crock pot with large chunks of pepper for flavor (but to be left out when serving).  At least, that is my understanding of the recipe.  Its been a few years- correct me if I’m wrong, Gramma!  I had a craving for this Meat and Rice, but wanted to fancy it up a bit.  Now that I am older and can handle the flavor, I decided to make more authentic meatballs and add a little spice to the sauce.  The new twist was really delicious, yet I could still taste the comfort of Gramma’s house in it.

Meatballs:

1.5 lbs  Ground Chuck

1/2 c. GF Breadcrumbs

1 Egg

1 tsp. Dried Parsley

1/2 tsp. Garlic Powder

1/2 tsp. Onion Powder

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Dump the meat and all the ingredients in a large bowl, and mix with your hands.  (It is gooey and cold, but also kinda fun!)  Then shape into small balls about 1.5 inches in diameter and place on an ungreased baking sheet.  I placed them pretty close together and was able to make a batch of 18 on one sheet.  Place the meatballs in the oven for 20 minutes.

Sauce:

32 oz. can of Tomato Sauce

1 tsp. Dried Parsley

1/2 tsp. Garlic Powder

1/2 tsp. Onion Powder

Salt and Pepper

While the meatballs were in the oven, mix the seasonings into the can of tomato sauce.  While the meatballs were still cooking, I heated up the tomato sauce on the stovetop in a copper baking pan.

After the 20 minutes of cooking meatballs are up, place them in the pan of sauce, rolling them around a bit to cover them in sauce. Then, place the pan in the oven for 10 minutes, and serve.

Serve with rice.

One thought on “GF Meatballs

  1. is that a picture of you on the side? cant tell…actually, Morgan named the dish “Meat and ICE” when she was 3 you corrected it a couple of years later. Yours sounds YUMMY…have to try it..have a great BD and of course….next semester “down under”. hugs Gramma

Leave a Reply

