GF Carne Asada Tacos

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s Taco Tuesday!!  You know what that means…I’m in a good mood all day because I know I’m havin tacos for dinner!  This week I knew I wanted to do steak tacos, but I didn’t necessarily have a vision of what exactly I wanted to make.  So, I set off on the internet for some inspiration.  I came across a recipe on the Food Network (I almost always trust the Food Network to have good recipes, as people like Ina and Giada have become frequent visitors to my family room lately).  The recipe was by Tyler Florence, and his mojo sauce happened to be exactly the mix of citrus and a lil kick that I was looking for.

Side story about the white vinegar ingredient:  I have seen many different kinds of vinegar involved in different recipes.  Evidently, I have never used white vinegar.  When I asked my mom where it was, she led me to a large jug in the laundry room.  Apparently, its the same vinegar used to clean floors.  Once I got over the fact that I was using cleaning supplies to season my tacos, I really enjoyed it!

Anyway, back to cooking.  The mojo sauce:

4 minced garlic cloves

1 minced jalapeno

1/2 c. chopped cilantro

1 tsp. Kosher salt

1 tsp. ground pepper

2 limes, juiced

1 orange, juiced

2 Tbsp. white vinegar

1/2 c. olive oil

Grind together the garlic, jalapeno, cilantro, salt, and pepper in a mortar.  Transfer to a jar or plastic bag and mix in the lime juice, orange juice, vinegar, and olive oil.  Shake the concoction well.

For the meat, I used steak tips.  Marinate the steak in the mojo sauce for at least 1 hour.  I used about 3/4 of the sauce to marinate the meat and kept the other 1/4 of it to use as a topping on the tacos.

Once marinated, heated up a stove-top grill (opposite side of the griddle that I made the pancakes on).  After spraying it with Pam, lay the meat on the grill and cook for about 3 minutes.

Serve in warm tortillas with chopped lettuce, tomato, cheese, and extra mojo sauce.  I also served the tacos with corn, which complemented the tacos quite well.  I know my parents are required to commend and encourage my efforts, but they ACTUALLY really really liked this dinner!  So, what I’m sayin is kid-tested, mother-approved (what up, Kix?!).  Enjoy your tacos!!

Leave a Reply

