GF Vegetable Risotto

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I had actually never had risotto when I became gluten free.  But its really a great option for us non-gluten folk because it is inherently gluten free, yet still full of flavor…and cheese.  And I love anything with cheese in it.  Also, I have been dipping my feet into the vegetarian world, and this vegetable risotto is a promising step toward meatlessness.  Here goes the recipe:

Ingredients:

1 c. Arborio Rice

2-3 Tbsp. Olive Oil

1 c. White Wine

3 1/2 c. Chicken Broth

1/2 c. Parmesan cheese

Chopped Veggies:

2 Medium Carrots

1 Zucchini

7 Mushrooms

1 Red Bell Pepper

First, I heated up the olive oil in a medium saucepan, then I mixed in the rice.  After about 2-3 minutes, I stirred in the wine.  Keep it on medium heat, stirring every so often, until the liquid is absorbed.  Next, add 1 cup of the chicken broth and again, cook until the liquid has absorbed. Continue adding the broth 1 cup at a time until it is all absorbed.  Don’t forget to keep stirring throughout this time!  While the risotto was cooking, I chopped the vegetables and sauteed them in olive oil.  Once all the liquid has been absorbed, stir in the cheese and vegetables.  And you’ve got yourself a meal!

Over and out.

Leave a Reply

