GF Deep Dish Pizza

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As I sit at home, bored to death, I’ve been concocting a wishlist of foods that I’ve been meaning to make slash dreaming of making.  First things first- why am I sitting at home bored to death?  Well, I took the plunge and decided to study abroad this spring semester of my junior year- at the University of Wollongong in Australia!  However, Australia, being in the Southern Hemisphere, follows a schedule opposite of universities in the U.S.  It’s currently their summer break, so my semester doesn’t start until February 20, and I have a little extra quality time with my mom and dad at home.  With all this extra time, I’ve decided to do something fun- make a lot of food.  This is where my wishlist comes in.  First off, deep dish pizza- gluten free, of course!

One thing I’ve been missing the most since going gluten-free has been deep dish pizza!  Being from Chicago, I love a nice thick slice of the stuff, oozing with cheese and piled with various fillings- and of course, smothered in sauce (my favorite part of pizza).  Tonight, I embarked upon Project Pizza to make dinner for my mom, dad, and myself.

Ingredients:

Crust

2 c. All-Purpose Gluten Free Flour

1/4 c. Corn Meal

1 packet Rapid-Rise Active Dry Yeast

1 Tbsp. Sugar

2 tsp. Kosher Salt

4 Tbsp. Canola Oil

3/4 c. Warm Water

3 Tbsp. Olive Oil

Pizza

8 Button Mushrooms

12 slices Pepperoni

6 c. Mozzarella (or other cheese)

2 and 1/2 c. pizza sauce

1/4 c. Parmesan

First, I combined the flour, corn meal, yeast, sugar, and salt in a food processor.  Next, I added the canola oil and water while pulsing.  Scrape down the sides of the food processor and pulse a couple more times.  Shape the dough into a disk and place in a medium-sized bowl.  Coat the dough in olive oil on both sides, and cover the bowl with plastic wrap.  Store in a warm area for 45 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.  Meanwhile, chop and saute the mushrooms in olive oil for 5 minutes.  When the dough is ready, spread evenly the dough along the bottom and sides of a 12-in spring form pan.  Layer about 6 cups of shredded cheese on the crust (I used a mixture of mostly Mozzarella- and some Asiago).  Then, I layered the sauteed mushrooms and pepperoni on top of the cheese.  After that, I spread about 2 and 1/2 cups of pizza sauce on top (this is a generous quantity, as I am a sauce fiend).  Finish it off by sprinkling the parmesan cheese on top.  Put foil on the pan and cook for 20 minutes. Then, uncover and continue cooking for 5 more minutes.  Let cool for 3-5 minutes, and enjoy!

**Above are some pictures I took with my phone, as my camera is temporarily out of service.

One thought on “GF Deep Dish Pizza

Leave a Reply

