Super Simple Tomato Sauce

So, I’d been hearing about this super simple, yet delicious tomato sauce. First, from my friend Katherine, a trusted source when it comes to all things cooking/food/baking/life. Then I came upon it on Smitten Kitchen, then How Sweet Eats was talking about it.

At this point, I decided to track down the original recipe, which is when I found this recipe. Apparently Marcella Hazan is the creator of this trusty sauce- a sauce that so many food bloggers rave about. Everyone seems to agree that it is impeccably simple and there is really no matching the rich velvet-y flavors of butter and tomato.

And so, I obviously had to try it out for myself. Every blog that has mentioned this sauce also agreed that the results are been when San Marzano canned tomatoes are used. San Marzano tomatoes are known for being expensive wonderful to cook with (more info here). I decided that, if I was going to try this famous sauce, I had to go big or go home. So, I used all 5 Tbsp of butter and bought San Marzano tomatoes. No holdin back!

My thoughts: I will say this sauce is positively simple and so delicious. However, next time I am making this sauce for myself, I think I will cut down the butter to 3 Tbsp, as my pal Katherine advised. The 5 Tbsp. of butter should be reserved for dinner parties and special occasions. Sometimes, I just don’t need all the richness on a plain ol’ Monday night!

Cheers, Marcella Hazan!

Here’s the recipe:

yields about 6-8 servings, when served on pasta.

Ingredients:

2 cups tomatoes (28 oz. can)

5 tablespoons butter

1 onion, peeled and cut in half

salt

GBGF Tomato Sauce 1

Put the tomatoes (and all the juices in the can), butter, and onion halves into a medium-large saucepan. Place the ingredients over medium-high heat. Simmer for about 45 minutes.

 

GBGF Tomato Sauce 2

Stir occasionally. Also use your wooden to mash tomato chunks as they get soft. Once the sauce is ready, discard of the onion halves. Add salt to taste.

GBGF Tomato Sauce 3

discarded onion

finished product!

finished product!

I sauteed some onions and mushrooms to go with the sauce.

GBGF Tomato Sauce 6

Enjoy!

GBGF Tomato Sauce 5

dinner time!

And, if you’re me, you’re probably going to put cheese on it. (Though critics say this sauce is rich enough that it does not require parmesan cheese adornment.)

 

2 thoughts on “Super Simple Tomato Sauce

  1. Pingback: Salad Pizza | gottabeglutenfree

  2. Pingback: Grillin’ Pizzas | gottabeglutenfree

Leave a Reply

